Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

Mickey5
New Contributor

Newbi

Hi all, 

I am new to this space and I’m just looking for people who are going through similar experiences. My 22year old daughter has suffered mental health issues from the age of 14. She has been on medication had counselling, and been hospitalised several times. Her real father is not supportive in anyway and never has been. I have been doing it on my own all this time. I finally have a wonder husband now who is supportive but it is still so tiring. She is currently going through a rough patch right now with high suicidal intentions. We have reach out for help in which she is slowly getting but I need help too. I work full time but feel the need of giving up work so I know she is safe. I am sitting here watching her world fall apart, the feeling of not being able to take her pain away kills you inside. 

5 REPLIES 5
tyme
Community Lead

Re: Newbi

Hey @Mickey5 ,

That sounds so tough. I'm hearing you. 

It can be so tiring caring for someone you love.

I hear you have a supportive husband. Do you have any other supports?

Also, is your daughter linked in with services? Is she in a place to want to get better? For me, I struggled for many years, but deep down, I was not ready to make changes. Then after years, I came to the point where I said I really needed help - only then did things work out.

By connecting with the community here, I hope you feel supported. There are many others here who are carers for someone with complex mental health.

You are not alone.

I look forward to hearing from you.

I have just reached out for support for myself.